Rosalynn Carter Leadership in Caregiving Award

Averting the Caregiving Crisis 

In October of 2010, RCI released "Averting the Caregiving Crisis: Why We Must Act Now", a position paper outlining 12 recommendations for addressing our nation’s caregiving crisis. To sharpen our focus and advance this agenda, in 2013 we restated the twelve original recommendations as six strategic initiatives in "Averting the Caregiving Crisis: An Update". The Rosalynn Carter Leadership in Caregiving Award goes to an individual or organization that has taken concrete action in making these initiatives a reality.

This year's award winner, AARP, was announced at the RCI Gala Awards Banquet held October 23, 2015 in conjunction with the RCI National Summit and Training Institute at Georgia Southwestern State University in Americus, Georgia. Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter presented AARP with a cash award of $15,000 as well as a beautiful statuette executed by renowned sculptor Frank Eliscu, designer of the Heisman Trophy. Read more >>

Bob Stephen, AARP's Vice President for Home and Family, is pictured with Bonnie Petrauskus, Executive Director of Worldwide Corporate Contributions for Johnson & Johnson, former first lady Rosalynn Carter, and RCI Executive Director, Leisa Easom, PhD.

Award nominees shall have clearly demonstrated progress in one or more of the following areas:

  • Educating the public about the critical role family caregivers play in our nation’s long-term health care system and the risks associated with serving in that role.
  • Assuring that caregivers receive evidence-based, effective support services that target their identified needs.
  • Supporting the translation of evidence-based caregiver programs into community settings.
  • Advocating for tax and public policy changes.
  • Targeting investments that lead to sustainable funding.
  • Providing leadership for coordination of efforts to support family caregivers.

Application Instructions:

There is no formal application form, instead please email the following information to by the deadline of August 1, 2016.

  • Name and contact information for nominator
  • Name and contact information for nominee(s)
  • Narrative explanation (10 page limit) of how the nominee(s) have successfully addressed the caregiving crisis in one or more of the above areas